Skip to content

Conditions for graduating

Please read the text under “IB Diploma Programme assessment” for information about course grades given by the school.  

The following rules regarding the award of the IB Diploma are stated in “General regulations – Diploma Programme (first examinations May 2015)” published by the IB Organisation.

Article 13: Award of the IB Diploma

13.1 All assessment components for each of the six subjects and the additional Diploma requirements
must be completed in order to qualify for the award of the IB Diploma, except under the conditions
stipulated in articles 18 and 19 of these regulations.
13.2 The IB Diploma will be awarded to a candidate provided all the following requirements have been met.
a. CAS requirements have been met.
b. The candidate’s total points are 24 or more.
c. There is no “N” awarded for theory of knowledge, the extended essay or for a contributing
d. There is no grade E awarded for theory of knowledge and/or the extended essay.
e. There is no grade 1 awarded in a subject/level.
f. There are no more than two grade 2s awarded (HL or SL).
g. There are no more than three grade 3s or below awarded (HL or SL).
h. The candidate has gained 12 points or more on HL subjects (for candidates who register for four
HL subjects, the three highest grades count).
i. The candidate has gained 9 points or more on SL subjects (candidates who register for two SL
subjects must gain at least 5 points at SL).
j. The candidate has not received a penalty for academic misconduct from the Final Award

13.3 A maximum of three examination sessions is allowed in which to satisfy the requirements for the
award of the IB Diploma. The examination sessions need not be consecutive.

13.09.2020 17:06