Skip to content

Adoption

Wear a face mask in social and health care services

We recommend that everyone who is 12 years old or older uses a face mask in all social and health care facilities.

Read more here: Coronavirus updates from Helsinki


Adoption counselling is free of charge for customers. Counselling is provided regarding domestic, international and inter-family adoption. For counselling, please contact the social worker.

Service area: residents of both Helsinki and Vantaa. 

Address:
Vironkatu 2, 00170 Helsinki
P.O. Box 8620, 00099 City of Helsinki

Senior Social Worker: Aulikki Haimi-Kaikkonen, tel. +358 (0)9 3104 3006

Social Workers: 
Maria Jensen, tel. +358 (0)9 3104 3179, e-mail: maria.jensen@hel.fi
Sanna Schultz-Karlsson, tel. +358 (0)9 3104 3406, e-mail: sanna.schultz-karlsson@hel.fi
Saara Leinonen, tfn +358 (0)9 3104 3657, e-mail: saara.leinonen@hel.fi

From the international adoption service you will get information about the registration and contacts. The Helsinki adoption service is one of three adoption service providers operating in Finland. The adoption services are subject to a charge.  

Service area: all of Finland

E-mail: helsinki.adoption@hel.fi 
Adoption Coordinator Saara Leinonen, tel. +358 (0)9 3104 3657, e-mail: saara.leinonen@hel.fi
Office Secretary Kirsi Ekberg, tel. +358 (0)9 3104 3328, e-mail: kirsi.ekberg@hel.fi.

Follow-up and support:
After the child has arrived to Finland the follow-up is taken care of according to the stipulations of the sending country.
Social Instructor Enni Koskela, tel. +358 (0)9 3104 3090, email: enni.koskela@hel.fi
Social Instructor Laura Uusitalo, tel +358 (0)9 3104 3414, e-mail: laura.uusitalo@hel.fi

The City of Helsinki Adoption Workgroup also provides post-adoption services. Post-adoption services are available to residents of Helsinki, children adopted through the adoption service and their guardians, adult adoptees and their descendants as well as parents who have given up their child for adoption.



23.11.2021 12:24