Skip to content

Protected habitats

What is meant by habitat?

The nature around us can be divided into different habitats according to the species that live there, especially plants. The soil, microclimate and humidity conditions, as well as the interaction between the species, determine the type of habitat formed in the area.

Habitat types protected under the Nature Conservation Act

The Nature Conservation Act (1996) lists 9 protected habitats. The aim of conservation is to promote the well-being of certain communities of living organisms. The protected habitats can be very small areas, for which the establishment of a nature conservation area would not come into question. Many habitats are also protected through the nation-wide conservation programme.

Protected habitats can be divided into three main groups and the sub-groups of these. Woodland habitats include broad-leaved woods, hazel woods and black alder swamps, coastal habitats are sandy shores, coastal meadows and dunes, and traditional habitats are juniper meadows, wooded meadows, and large trees in open landscapes.

The majority of the protected habitats in Helsinki are coastal meadows.

Nature Information System


06.12.2019 18:36