Skip to content

Digital accessibility

The Act on the Provision of Digital Services obliges the public sector to abide by the requirements of the European Union's accessibility directive. Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) make up a set of internationally recognised guidelines on the accessibility of web content. According to the Act, websites and applications must fulfil the criteria on Level A and Level AA in the WCAG 2.1 guidelines.

Accessible digital services are easy to use for all users, including the elderly and people with different kinds of functional abilities. When accessibility has been implemented, as many people as possible can use digital services independently.

Helsinki’s aim

In terms of the accessibility of digital services, Helsinki’s objective is to reach at least Level AA or better, and according to the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines.

Accessibility statement

After a transition period, each city service will include an accessibility statement. Accessibility statements describe how well the website or application corresponds with accessibility requirements and how accessibility feedback can be provided to the City or the supervisory authority.

12.08.2022 13:00