Helsinki Mayors

The Mayor leads the City and serves as chairperson of the City Board. The City Council elects a Mayor for an electoral period, i.e. the time between two local elections.

The Deputy Mayors serve as chairpersons of the sector committees and are members of the City Board. The City Council elects from among the councillors Deputy Mayors for a term as long as an electoral period.

The four city sectors are Social Services and Health Care, Education, City Environment and Culture and Leisure.

The Mayor and Deputy Mayors each manage, supervise and develop the City administration in their respective fields of responsibility, ensuring that the objectives defined for the operations are achieved.

The Mayor and Deputy Mayors present the matters under their authority in City Board meetings. They should also be present at City Council meetings and can make statements at the meetings. The Mayor directs the City administration, financial management and other operations, reporting to the City Board.

Helsinki Mayors’ email addresses are

24.05.2017 14:37